My answer to the client that asks “can you make this video viral?”

Updated with my ‘VIRAL’ submission for the Onion Sports Network One-Second Chance Super Bowl Contest2,500 views in under two weeks

How many times has a client approached you with a video on YouTube that has gone “viral” asking you to magically trend their content to the stratosphere.  Sadly, the answer is more often than not.  The problem is that viral is not a strategy, viral is an outcome.

Videos don’t go viral, promos don’t go viral, stories that touch the human psyche, those go viral.  The problem is the human psyche is one complex element that we have spent 1,000s of years trying to comprehend and still don’t.  So I shake my head whenever people who can’t even understand the behaviour of their own pets think they can magically make something go viral.

Fundamentally that is the problem with business today.  Everyone is looking for the magic bullet for success.  The problem is they need to first take a look why things backfire in the first place.  Sadly most people have no interest in doing the research and even less interest in doing the work it takes to change to align with the target they seek.

But what do I know 😉

Rob

My thanks to Trey Pennington for the inspiration to put my thoughts to words on this matter via our facebook chat today.

2 thoughts on “My answer to the client that asks “can you make this video viral?”

  1. Pingback: My answer to the client that asks “can you make this video viral?” | Life@42 by @RLavigne42 | My Thoughts Enclosed…

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention My answer to the client that asks “can you make this video viral?” | Life@42 by @RLavigne42 -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

